Notice of election for parish councillors

See the number of councillors for each parish ward and deadlines to nominate candidates.

Wards Number of councillors to be elected
Adisham 7
Barham 9
Bekesbourne with Patrixbourne (Bekesbourne) 6
Bekesbourne with Patrixbourne (Patrixbourne) 3
Bishopsbourne 5
Blean 9
Bridge 9
Chartham (Chartham and Chartham Hatch) 7
Chartham (St Augustine's) 4
Chestfield 9
Chislet 9
Fordwich 5
Hackington 5
Harbledown and Rough Common (Harbledown) 4
Harbledown and Rough Common (Rough Common) 7
Herne and Broomfield 13
Hersden 9
Hoath 5
Ickham and Well 7
Kingston 7
Littlebourne 9
Lower Hardres and Nackington 5
Petham 7
Sturry 11
Thanington (South) 2
Thanington (North) 7
Upper Hardres 5
Waltham 5
Westbere 7
Wickhambreaux 7
Womenswold 5

Nomination papers may be obtained from the Clerk to the parish council or the Returning Officer at the address below.

Nomination papers must be delivered to the Returning Officer at the address below on any week day after the date of this notice (excluding bank holidays) between 10am and 4pm but no later than 4pm on Tuesday, 4 April 2023.

If any election is contested the poll will take place on Thursday, 4 May 2023. This is the same day as elections for Canterbury City councillors.

Applications for the following must reach the Electoral Registration Officer by the deadlines below:

Applications Deadline

New applications to register to vote:

By midnight on Monday 17 April

New applications to vote by post or to cancel or amend an existing postal or proxy vote. By 5pm on Tuesday 18 April 2023

Applications for Voter Authority Certificate:

By 5pm on Tuesday 25 April 2023
New applications to vote by proxy By 5pm on Tuesday 25 April 2023
Applications to vote by emergency proxy By 5pm on Thursday 4 May 2023

For more information, please contact or call 01227 862007.

Dated Thursday 16 March 2023

Tricia Marshall

Returning Officer/Electoral Registration Officer

Council Offices

Military Road